Rainy Weekend = Hooky Heaven!

Standard

A rainy weekend is the perfect excuse to snuggle on the sofa and raid your yarn stash!

I recently bought Nicki Trench’s fabulous book “Cute and Easy Crochet” – if you are a fan of Nicki’s then this book is a must! I decided yesterday that I had been drooling over her gorgeous projects for long enough and it was high time I used some of my stash to begin a new project.

But….what to make?……Did I want this gorgeous bag?

20120304-132829.jpg

Or with Easter looming maybe I could gift all of my friends with a half dozen eggs from our chickens complete with their own little cosies?

20120304-130701.jpg

20120304-130717.jpg

aren’t they gorgeous!?

I couldn’t decide but in the end chose her Camellia Blanket. BUT …having costed this out using the wool she recommended it was WAY beyond my budget and I figured that as I already had some Amy Butler Belle Organic (which I had got at less than half price!) I would use this as a base and then all I had to do was buy a couple of new balls to complete some of the flowers. So I ended up with mainly Rowan Amy Butler Belle Organic Aran in Zinc (which is a little darker than the silvery grey that the blanket in the book is made with and the flower squares would be made with a mix of Amy Butler and Debbie Bliss.

It wasn’t till I was tipping the required yarn into my WIP bag that I realised that the colours were a beautiful match for it!

20120304-131322.jpg

I’ve only completed a few of the squares so far, but I think they will be ok – I’ve never tried a “flower” square before but it’s not so hard once you get the hang of it.

20120304-131519.jpg

20120304-131530.jpg

This is Nicki’s book if you are tempted to treat yourself!

20120304-131640.jpg

Hope you are all managing to get some hooky time this Sunday!

Nikki x

11 responses »

  1. i wish I could get the hang of those flowers,so pretty! That looks like a lovely book,full of gorgeous hooky ideas.How cute are those cosies?!
    We go to the beach at Ferring and walk towards Littlehampton,.There’s a lovely cafe at Ferring and dogs are allowed in there too.
    Hope you are having a good week. :0)

  2. Hi Nikki. Thank you for your lovely comment on my blog.

    Your squares are so pretty – I love the contrast between the soft grey and the colourful flowers.

    I’ve not had much time for any hooky this week and am suffering severe withdrawal! I think you’ve just inspired me to set aside some time this weekend for a ‘sesh’!!

    Heather x

  3. Hi,

    I bought this book at the start of the year, as my new year’s resolution was to learn to crochet and Lucy from Attic 24 had mentioned this book on her blog. It’s a beautiful book, great projects….but i’m struggling with crochet!! I’m a life long knitter and definitely out of my comfort zone!!

    Pop by my blog if you want to have a look at my knits.
    Fleur xx

Leave a Reply

